Press Releases Contact

Media Contact: DeEtte Person ~ ~ 623-869-2597 ~ 480-620-7685

Press Releases


For more information:
Robert Barrett
Phone: 623-869-2135

Central Arizona Project’s Pamela Pickard is among the 2014 Leaders of the Year in Public Policy honored this month by the Arizona News Service/Arizona Capitol Times. Pickard, who is president of the Central Arizona Water Conservation District board of directors, was selected in the water and natural resources category. The award was presented Sept. 16 at the Phoenician in Phoenix.

This year’s Leaders of the Year in Public Policy awards recognize 19 individuals and organizations that have advanced public policy to positively impact the state and the lives of Arizonans. Pickard has served on the CAWCD Board of Directors since 2006, representing Maricopa County. As president since 2010, she has taken on complex and critical issues:

  • Advocating for the preservation of the Navajo Generating Station, which supplies more than 90 percent of the power CAP uses to deliver water across 336 miles
  • Facing the first shortage on the Colorado River in recent history and assuring municipal customers that reliable water deliveries would not be curtailed
  • Repairing the first breach of the CAP canal system and recognizing the signs of an aging infrastructure

Pickard also has had the privilege of delivering good news to business leaders across the Valley – the results of a recent CAP-commissioned study by ASU’s School of Business that quantifies CAP’s economic impact to the state (1986 through 2010) in excess of $1 trillion of Arizona's gross state product.

Prior to serving Central Arizona Project, Pickard served four terms as an Arizona Medical Foundation Reimbursement Board Member, was selected for the first class of the Dodie Londen Women in Leadership Program and has been appointed by the state legislature to serve on Arizona’s English Language Learner Task Force.

Other honorees include:

Arts & Humanities: Jeff Guldner, Board Chair, Herberger Theater
Senior Vice President, Public Policy, Arizona Public Service Company

Business: Kimber Lanning, Executive Director, Local First Arizona

Economic Development: Juan Salgado, Executive Director, Phoenix Industrial Development Authority

Education: Eileen Sigmund, President & CEO, Arizona Charter Schools Association

Environment: Peter W. Culp, Partner, Squire Patton Boggs

Government: Vincent Perez, Former Deputy Director of Arizona Department of Revenue

Healthcare: Emily Jenkins, CEO, Arizona Council of Human Service Providers

Legislative: Senate President Andy Biggs

Open Government: Dan Barr, Partner, Perkins Coie, and David Bodney, Litigator, Ballard Spahr LLP

Public Safety: Superior Court Judge James Conlogue, Cochise County

Technology: M.C. Baldwin, GIS/Rural Addressing Coordinator, Navajo Nation Addressing Authority

Transportation: Former Congressman Jim Kolbe

Unsung Hero: The Late Senator Chester Crandell

Up & Comer: Kory Langhofer,Partner, Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck

Volunteerism: Valley Leadership

Social Services: Valle del Sol’s Hispanic Leadership Institute

ANS Scholarship Recipient: Jordan Hibbs, Psychology/Political Science Major, Barrett, the Honors College, Arizona State University