Press Releases Contact

Media Contact: DeEtte Person ~ ~ 623-869-2597 ~ 480-620-7685

Press Releases


For more information:
Robert Barrett
Phone: 623-869-2135

The Board of Directors of the Central Arizona Project (CAP) has elected its officers and committee chairpersons, whose terms run until February, 2017. 

Current Board Secretary Lisa Atkins has been elected for a two year term as President of the Board. Warren Tenney was re-elected as Vice President and Frank Fairbanks was elected as Secretary. All three also will serve on the Board Executive Committee.

In addition, past President Pam Pickard, Jim Hartdegen and Sharon Megdal were elected as members of the Board Executive Committee. Pickard represents Maricopa County, Hartdegen represents Pinal County and Megdal represents Pima County.

Atkins, representing Maricopa County, was initially appointed to the CAP Board in 2003 to fill a vacancy. She was elected to a regular six-year term in 2006 and reelected in 2012.

Tenney, representing Pima County, was elected to the Board in in 2008 and reelected in 2014.

Fairbanks, representing Maricopa County, was elected to the Board in 2010.

Responding to her unanimous vote to lead the organization as President of the Board of Directors, Atkins said, "As a whole, this Board will now move forward to prepare for potential shortages on the Colorado River, which may occur as early as 2016-17. CAP is taking proactive steps in collaboration with the State of Arizona, the six other Basin States sharing the Colorado, the Federal Government and Mexico to address declining reservoir levels and protect the health of the river system."

Members of the Board are popularly elected from CAP's three-county service area and serve staggered, unpaid six-year terms. The Board meets at least monthly to establish policies, levy taxes, set water rates, approve budgets and address a variety of other critical issues affecting CAP, its customers and employees.