Lisa Atkins re-elected president, Terry Goddard elected vice-president and Sharon Megdal re-elected secretary

The Central Arizona Water Conservation District Board of Directors (CAWCD) convened today for its February Board of Directors meeting. The board heard a presentation on Arizona Open Meeting Law from Danee Garone of Arizona Ombudsman – Citizens’ Aide. In addition, updates were provided regarding the Arizona Water Banking Authority Commission meeting, CAP’s transmission system projects and Colorado River conditions.

Water Policy Director Suzanne Ticknor provided the Board with an update on Arizona’s Lower Drought Contingency Plan implementation process, including a review of the remaining agreements (pages 100-1).

“As far as approving and authorizing Arizona’s portion of the Lower Basin Drought Contingency Plan, the State of Arizona and Central Arizona Project’s work is complete,” she said. “There are, however, a number of intrastate agreements that need to be finalized in order to implement the plan in Arizona.”

The CAWCD board voted to elect its Officers and Executive Committee members and to appoint members to its committees. They are:

  • Board Officers
    • Lisa Atkins – President
    • Terry Goddard – Vice-President
    • Sharon Megdal – Secretary
  • Executive Committee – Board Officers, Alexandra Arboleda, Jim Hartdegen, Mark Taylor
  • Finance, Audit & Power Committee – Terry Goddard (chair), Alexandra Arboleda, Jennifer Brown, Karen Cesare, Pat Jacobs, Jennifer Martin, Mark Taylor
  • CAGRD & Underground Storage Committee – Sharon Megdal (chair), Karen Cesare, Jim Hartdegen, Pat Jacobs, Heather Macre, Jennifer Martin
  • Public Policy – Karen Cesare (chair), Jennifer Brown, Ben Graff, Jim Hartdegen, Heather Macre
  • Arizona Water Banking Authority Commission – Alexandra Arboleda
  • Arizona Water Protection Fund Commission – Pat Jacobs

Board President Lisa Atkins closed the meeting noting upcoming meetings:

  • Feb. 19 – Final AZDCP Steering Committee, 9 to 11 a.m., CAP Headquarters
  • Feb. 21 – Possible CAWCD Board Meeting to discuss AZDCP-related agreements
  • Feb. 28 – Possible CAWCD Board Meeting to discuss AZDCP-related agreements

The Central Arizona Water Conservation District (CAWCD) Board of Directors is a popularly elected, 15-member board. Ten members are from Maricopa County, four from Pima County and one from Pinal. Members serve six-year, unpaid terms. The board typically meets publicly the first Thursday of each month to establish policy and set rates and taxes for Central Arizona Project.

For more information on the role of the CAWCD board and its current activities, visit For additional details on the Feb. 7 board meeting, take a look at the agenda. Board minutes and videos will be posted here.